Guide to buying an AR-15?

After reading Armed Neighborhood Groups Form In The Absence Of Police Protection (https://www.npr.org/2020/06/03/868464167/armed-neighborhood-groups-form-in-the-absence-of-police-protection), I find myself highly motivated to buy an AR-15.

Ideally I would read a non-yet-extant article on the The Prepared with background information, reviews, and recommendations.  In absence of this can anyone point me to the next best thing?

• Comments (69)

Hello Hardened,

I am an expert on the Ar-15/M4/Mk-18/M16 family of rifles. I can answer any questions you have about Ar-15’s and firearms in general.

Some points about the Ar-15

• Every Ar-15 in existence is either a good or bad copy of the real thing, which is a Colt or FN M4 Carbine rifle.
      • You can get a rifle that is just as good if not better then what our military uses.
      • Without diving to deep into metallurgy, the receivers need to be made out of 7075 T6 Type 3 hardcoat aluminum. A good barrel will be made out of  4140, 4150, or “CMV” steel. Your bolt carrier group should be made out of 8620 steel and the bolt should be made out of 158 Carpenter steel. Avoid companies that do not publish this data. 9310 steel can also be used on the bolt, but I prefer 158 Carpenter.
      • There are a lot of calibers for the Ar-15 family of weapons, but for general use I recommend 5.56/.223. Get brass cased 55, 72 or 77 grain ammunition. I would avoid steel cased ammunition.
      • Your rifle will need a good flashlight and an optic. I like 1-4 or 1-8 power scopes. This allows you to dial down to 1 power and have a wide field of view, or to a higher power for increased accuracy and target identification.