Recommendations on .308 Bolt Gun

I haven’t gotten into long range precision shooting yet, but that’s something I’m interested in now (I already have all of the ordinary bases covered: ARs, pistols, 22’s etc). What I’d like is to make this an enjoyable project which I can upgrade and improve over time, gaining knowledge and competency of long range shooting in general.

The main models I’ve been looking at are the Ruger American Predator, Savage 110, and Remington 700 SPS Tactical. What I’d plan to upgrade on these are the stock, trigger, bolt etc. I definitely need something with a threaded barrel since I plan on using a suppressor which I recently picked up.

Thanks for any feedback you guys can provide.

• Comments (13)

I have no experience with .308 but when younger I had a Remington 700 BDL 7mm magnum, and it was a really fine gun.  I had it too for long range shooting.  Problem was, I found out I wasn’t all that accurate at long range shooting.  🙂

I don’t know how experienced you are with suppressors but my experience is they don’t do a whole lot of good when shooting high velocity ammo.  There is a very big bang with such, plus you have the loud crack as the bullet goes supersonic.  Almost everything I shoot now is subsonic and that works perfectly with all my suppressors.  This is especially so when shooting my 15-22 but also with my 300 Blackout SBR.  With the 300 Blackout I keep both subsonic ammo and high velocity.  The subsonic is in 20 round magazines and the high velocity is in 30 round.  The gun is much quieter with subsonic.